Movies | TV | Books | Quotes Easter Eggs
[ Logo] The Slip-Up ArchiveTM
Home > Books > E - H > Hardy Boys, The Bloopers Add a Slip-Up
Hardy Boys, The - Different Plots
There is 2 different versions of the same book with the same everything except for the plot. The books are both named The Melted Coins and are both written by the same guy, Franklin W. Dixon, yet they have different covers and different plots altogether which are in no way the same.
Be the first to post pictures of this Slip-Up!
Rated 7.5/10 (2 ratings) Your opinion?
Special Requirements: Book#23
Contributed By: Anonymous on 11-12-2004 and Reviewed By: Larman
If something isn't right, please Correct this Slip-Up

Michael Cole writes:
Ah no. The first book was written by Leslie McFarlane in 1944, and had an incredibly stupid plot. It was completely rewritten in 1970 by Andrew Svenson, as were some others of Leslie's original books. Franklin W. Dixon does not exist - he was made up from the names of Leslie's brothers, Frank and Dick. All books were written by ghostwriters - Leslie was the first (and best). The books were all produced by The Stratemeyer Syndicate, which also churned out Nancy Drew, The Red Rovers and various other juvenile pulp fiction, all in the same manner. Don't look for sense in the Hardy Boys books - they were always intended to be pulp - by design.
9 of 10 found this helpful. Did you? Yes

Want more Slip-Ups?
More Hardy Boys, The Bloopers
Top 25 Bloopers in E - H
All E - H Bloopers
Top 25 Bloopers
Newest Bloopers
Hardy Boys, The Easter Eggs